Malaysia Day

Malaysia Day is a public holiday and falls on September 16.

This holiday marks the union of Malaya, North Borneo (now Sabah), Sararak and Singapore to form Malaysia on 16 September 1963, 6 years after the independence from the British. 

Singapore left the union only 2 years later on 9 August 1965.

Malaysia Day is not to be confused with Merdeka Day (celebrated on August 31) which commemorates the independence.

Malaysian Public Holidays

Malaysian Flag
the flag of Malaysia (Jalur Gemilang = stripes of glory)
The flag is composed of 14 stripes and a 14-point star representing the 13 member states and the federal territories


back to Knowledge Base Overview